Roundup Reunion – Starting Out September 5, 2015

Well, this afternoon, I met up with my friend, Holly, to drive out to Idaho for the 50th anniversary of our 1965 Girl Scout Senior Roundup.

On that trip, we packed light: One duffel per girl with all our gear in it. And a couple of additional packages for the patrol of 8. We shipped all that stuff West several months before the campout. I’ve done a lot of backpacking and camping since, but we’re travelling in a car and camping in state campgrounds, so my minimalist packing skills have fallen by the wayside. Now, I will say that the food box has 3 weeks worth of meals in it, just in case the accommodation of my food sensitivities falls short in the resort where the reunion will be.

IMG_1695

I’m leaving behind my nearly restored barn. We’re planning a solar installation and had to move and rehab the barn in order to do it. One picture of the barn and a link to the whole moving albums on Dropbox. Do enjoy!

Day 1:  https://www.dropbox.com/sh/u9pddtc52ibgjiq/AACJsPUP2azM5ULvb2Mp7LH4a?dl=0

Day 2: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/odbl98f3gxfcipv/AAC6SYx83gJWWtCZx3p66KBIa?dl=0

Day 3: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/tiibtcpohx3h6jk/AACviedNQWQDZaG52Q7G1jnna?dl=0

IMG_1696

I’m also leaving behind my garden in full fruit. But tomatoes have been so prolific this year, even with a healthy does of early blight, that I have nearly 50 pounds in the freezer. I’ve already dug 20 pounds of potatoes and expect to dig 30 pound more when I return. I made 4 gallons of sauerkraut and one gallon of kimchee, along with all variety of pickles and relishes. Today I made kale chips (2 varieties) and tomatillo salsa for the trip.

IMG_1697 IMG_1698

After I went to China two years ago, I haven’t wanted to leave home at all. (You can read about that trip below.) Now I’m looking at 3 weeks away from my husband and cats. I hope this apprehension passes with the wonder of seeing new country from the navigator’s seat of a small SUV.

After I went to China two years ago, I haven’t wanted to leave home at all. (You can read about that trip below.) Now I’m looking at 3 weeks away from my husband and cats. I hope this apprehension passes with the wonder of seeing new country from the navigator’s seat of a small SUV.

Leave a Reply

